Cute And… Not So Cute: Best and Worst Dressed Of The 2013 Teen Choice Awards

Truthfully, I did not watch the Teen Choice Awards last night. I know, I should have. I write for a teen girl website (hi, Gurl!). Watching awards shows is part of my job. But, guys, I just didn’t have it in me. Awards show season ended months ago with the Oscars, but it feels like it just ended yesterday and it was exhausting. I couldn’t handle another red carpet, another round of slightly weird/cocky speeches and basically three hours of boredom. So instead, I went out to dinner to get lobster with my boyfriend, brother and sister and then settled down to watch old episodes of The Sopranos with said boyfriend. Sounds much better than the TCAs, doesn’t it? Yes, it does.

Anyway, I obviously missed a relatively interesting red carpet. I actually enjoy the red carpet for less serious awards shows like these, because it allows the celebrities in attendance to be a little more casual and, thus, a little more fun and wacky. So, although I didn’t get to see any of these celebs in action last night, I did get to enjoy checking out their outfits online this morning. And, let’s be honest, critiquing those outfits is more fun than actually watching the show.

Here are my picks for Best and Worst Dressed. Check it out!

shaylily

bestdressedChloe Moretz

chloe moretz teen choice awards 2013

Let’s start off with this colorful number from the one and only Chloe Moretz. I love me some Chloe and I love the pops of bright color against what could have been a really boring, basic black dress. Fun and different!

Amber Riley

amber riley teen choice awards 2013

Amber looks beautiful in these bright colors and her dress is super flattering for her body type. I love that she wasn’t afraid to pair hot pink shoes with this dress when some celebs would have gone for nude or black, which is much less interesting.

Brittany Snow

brittany snow teen choice awards 2013 I don’t particularly love Brittany’s lip color (it sort of looks like she just ate a popsicle and forgot to wipe her mouth), but I’m into her dress. It’s not my absolute favorite, but it’s fun and in a color you don’t see a lot, so she gets on the list for that.

Lucy Hale 

lucy hale teen choice awards 2013

I had to think for a long time before adding Lucy to the Best Dressed list, but in the end, I decided she belonged there. While I wish her outfit had a little more color and wasn’t so, well, flat, I appreciate that she knows how to do the crop top the right way (unlike Naya Rivera, which you’ll see soon).

Garret Clayton

garret clayton teen choice awards 2013

I have no idea who this kid is and I’m just too lazy to Google him right now. Also, I don’t care. He’s adorable, in a you-could-be-my-brother way and I think he looks very put together here. Considering he’s wearing jeans and sneakers, that’s quite an accomplishment.

Carly Chaikin 

carly chaikin teen choice awards 2013

Again, don’t know who this girl is. I’m sorry! But I enjoy her very pretty hair and her dress is… eh, okay. This is kind of boring. I don’t really know how she ended up on this list, now that I think of it.

Kerry Washington

kerry washington teen choice awards 2013

I’m normally not a fan of Kerry Washington, but I’m digging this dress. The print is so fun, girlish and young – it’s obviously perfect for the TCA’s. I also love the laid back look of her hair. I’m not sure about the choice of heels, but overall, I think this is super cute. It must be difficult to look age-appropriate when everyone there is so much younger than you, but she nailed it.

The Jonas Brothers

the jonas brothers teen choice awards 2013

Nick, Joe and Kevin did a pretty good job of looking put together, handsome and laid-back at the same time. I particularly love Nick’s outfit, because, well… have you seen him lately? I also love a good striped shirt.

Nina Dobrev 

nina dobrev teen choice awards 2013

I’m normally not big on jumpsuits, but I think Nina pulls this off very well. I love the pattern and am obsessed with that clutch she paired this with. If she didn’t add that pop of red in there, this would be way too much black.

Shay Mitchell

shay mitchell teen choice awards 2013

Shay always looks gorgeous and is another one who really pulled off the jumpsuit trend. I like a simple black and white look sometimes. Part of me hates those metallic shoes, but another part of me thinks they’re fun, so… I don’t know.

Skylar Astin 

skylar astin teen choice awards 2013

I obviously saved the best for last. Look at my adorable imaginary boyfriend. LOOK AT HIM. Some may not appreciate those shoes with this otherwise very classy look, but I’m into it. He can do whatever he wants, okay? worstdressed

Abigail Breslin

abigail breslin teen choice awards 2013

Abigail’s face looks gorgeous and I am thrilled with her hair and the fact that she’s growing up so nicely. But… something about this feels off to me. Maybe it’s the quality of the dress, which I feel looks very cheap. Or maybe it’s the glittery cardigan, which not only feels wrong for summer but also just doesn’t really go with this dress. Or maybe it’s both. Yeah, it’s both.

Cody Simpson

cody simpson teen choice awards 2013

This is… no. Why are only the bottoms of the sleeves purple? You can’t even call that ombre, although if it were ombre, I still wouldn’t dig it. It looks bad. That is all.

Ashley Benson

ashley benson teen choice awards 2013

It pains me to put my girl Ashley here, but I have to. This whole look is just a messy combination of a bunch of different looks that shouldn’t be together. I’m obsessing over the shoes, but they’re too much with that busy skirt. I love the look of the crop top, but again, it just doesn’t go with the skirt. Her face and hair look gorgeous though, so silver linings, right?

Demi Lovato

demi lovato teen choice awards 2013

I can’t really put a finger on why I hate this. I guess it’s just that I feel like Demi is trying so hard to be… punk? Not Taylor Swift or Selena Gomez? I don’t know. It just feels like she threw on leggings and a white tank, then wondered how to make it more dressy, so chose ugly shoes and a blazer. And mullet hair? Not for me.

Lily Collins

lily collins teen choice awards 2013

While I appreciate the fact that Lily Collins went for a dramatic look with huge (seriously, huge) hair and a fun print, I can’t stand behind this. These high-low dresses need to go. I don’t know if those are some sort of shoulder pads or unfortunate placement, but if they’re shoulder pads… ick. I also am not feeling the hair. Lily is a gorgeous girl, but I don’t think that style flatters her face.

Miley Cyrus

miley cyrus teen choice awards 2013

Oh, Miley. Girl. What are you doing? I’m trying so hard to stand behind you and back you up despite all the haters, and then you go and do something like this. It’s just too much. It’s trying way too hard. And the hair flop is just awful. I still love you, but step it up, okay?

Naya Rivera 

naya rivera teen choice awards 2013

I have so many problems with this. First of all, when I first saw this picture, I didn’t even realize it was Naya for a minute because she looks like she had work done. Has she always been that skinny? This is just way too much. There’s a way to wear crop tops and look classy and there’s a way to wear crop tops and look like you belong at the beach. Guess which look Naya accomplished? Also, the purple shoes are just too ’80s prom for me.

Selena Gomez

selena gomez teen choice awards 2013

I debated for a while before putting Selena on the Worst Dressed list, but in the end, she made it here. Those slits are a little too much, like, “look at me, I’m grown up and sexy!” And even with all of the slits, this is still somehow drab. Better luck next time, Sel.

JWoww

jwoww teen choice awards 2013

Why? Why is JWoww here? Why did she wear this? Why was this made? It’s not good, people. It’s not good at all.

Rebel Wilson

rebel wilson teen choice awards 2013I’m a huge fan of Rebel Wilson and I mean… I just love her. I totally get that she’s trying to give off this hilarious, eccentric vibe where she wears whatever she wants even if it’s odd and inappropriate, but… I can’t with this. The pants (or is this all one piece?) look like the pants I wear to the gym. The top is weird. And flip flops? I know she can look so much better than this.

Which of these looks was your favorite? Which look was your least favorite? What do you disagree with me about? Tell me in the comments! 

Leave a Reply

